The Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec “Award”

Published on 21 March 2014

Montreal, October 3, 2013 – The winner of the Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec Achievement Award was announced on September 22 as part of Chiropractic Days, an annual training and professional development event attended by over 400 members of the Ordre, mainly from the Montreal area.


Dr. Michel Nolet, a chiropractor working in the Duberger-Les Saules district of Québec City, received the CIQ Merit Award from Marc Sauvé, a member of the Executive Committee of the Québec Interprofessional Council. This award seeks to recognize the achievements and contributions made to the Ordre by a professional.

From 1997 to 2013, Dr. Nolet sat on the Board of the Ordre as a director for the National Capital region. He was elected to 13 consecutive terms, for a total of 26 years of service to the Ordre. In this time, he also held various positions within the Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec, including ad hoc syndic, member of the Finance Committee, Audit Committee, and the Ad Hoc Stewardship Committee, as well as chairing the Committee on Related Activities. He has also been actively involved in the Fondation de recherche chiropratique du Québec for a number of years.


Actively involved in Québec, Canada and internationally

Dr. Jocelyn Ouimet, a chiropractor in St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, was awarded the Ordre’s 2013 Builders Award because of his active commitment to the profession. In 1966, he was a founding member of the Syndicat professionnel des chiropraticiens du Québec, which later became the Association des chiropraticiens du Québec, to which he has devoted a large part of his professional life. In 1967, he became a director of the Canadian Chiropractic Association (CCA) and served as its President in 1987-1988. In 1990, he was appointed an honorary member.

The International College of Chiropractic awarded him a Fellowship in 1984. Five years later, in 1989, he became a director with the Canadian Chiropractic Protective Association, for which he served as Vice President from 2011 to 2013. Lastly, Dr. Jocelyn Ouimet, chiropractor, was also a member of the pre-selection committee for the recruitment of professors to the Chiropractic Program at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières.

The Ordre presents its Builders Award to a chiropractor who has worked selflessly to gain recognition for chiropractic in Québec and elsewhere, and help it earn its rightful place as a leading health profession.


Two winners: a single cause

Drs. Natalie Massé and Jasmin Pitre, chiropractors in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and the Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough of Montreal, received the Medal of Distinction for their notable contribution to the development of Mentorat chiropratique, a non-profit organization whose goal is to promote and develop a mentoring culture by providing services tailored to new members of the profession. Embodying the values of chiropractic mentoring, including ethics, confidentiality, altruism, generosity, integrity, respect for others and the profession, doctors Pitre and Massé, chiropractors, have supported the development of 12 active dyads and 22 mentors.

The Ordre presents the Medal of Distinction in order to recognize exceptional work on a project, a specific cause or specific actions performed by a chiropractor or group of chiropractors or any other person who has contributed to the progress and growth of chiropractic, as well as its promotion and recognition. This distinction can also be awarded to a member in appreciation of volunteer work or a deserving student in chiropractic at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières.

About the Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec

Formed in 1974 under the provisions of the Professional Code, the Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec is a licensed professional association (i.e., with exclusive practice). Its mission is to protect the public by ensuring quality and excellence in the practice of chiropractic and supporting the development of its members’ skills. The Ordre des chiropraticiens has a membership of over 1,300 doctors of chiropractic. Chiropractic has been one of the disciplines represented in the World Health Organization (WHO) since 1988.